What to Know About Arizona’s Lemon Law

Like many other states, Arizona has a Lemon Law in place to help protect consumers who buy faulty vehicles from being stuck with them with no recourse. Arizona’s lemon law, though, is a little different from other states, with certain restrictions in place that are specific to Arizona. Here are a few basic guidelines to help you if you’re buying a vehicle in the state of Arizona.

What Should You Do if You’ve Purchased A Lemon?

It is helpful to read the actual Lemon Law itself to understand its provisions more deeply, but it is also suggested by the Arizona Attorney General itself that you file a complaint with the Auto Line Program of the Better Business Bureau or consult with an attorney. You should be aware, however, that the Better Business Bureau is not a government organization, and therefore does not provide any government-like protections. Consulting with an attorney is a good method for getting an idea of how protected you are, and what can be done to make sure you get the most out of your defective vehicle, whether through the courts or through other means.

How Much Time Do You Have to Return the Vehicle?

Under Arizona law, the time period covered by the Lemon Law is the manufacturer’s warranty’s term — 24,000 miles, or two years, whichever of those happens to be earlier. The date you are first covered is the day the vehicle you have purchased is officially delivered to you. You must report any concerns to the manufacturer during the covered period to be covered.

What Problems are Covered Under Arizona’s Lemon Law?

To be covered under Arizona’s Lemon Law, the problem with your automobile must impair the use and value of the car substantially, and cannot conform to the manufacturer’s warranty. The manufacturer, or in some cases, an authorized dealer, can make the proper repair to fix whatever defect has been detected and properly reported, or they may accept the car’s return, or replace it with a brand new car.

What if Your Car is Used?

With used cars, Arizona Lemon Law is a little different. If a major car component in your newly-purchased used vehicle breaks before 500 miles or within 15 days (whichever is earlier), then it will be covered. Regardless, you will also have to pay up to $25 for the first two repairs of your used car. The recovery option in the case of the purchase of a used car is not a replacement, but rather a refund of the purchase amount you paid for the used car.

Summary

“Buyer beware” is not just a warning, it’s a good piece of advice. If you’re buying an automobile, it’s within your rights to test drive it, have it checked out by an expert, and get all the information that is available regarding the vehicle’s history and potential problems. The easiest way to not get taken advantage of is to be as prepared as possible.

You May Also Like

About the Author: rslawoffices

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *